The Nominating and Governance Committee is beginning the process of nominating Congregants for election in May 2020 to fill vacancies on the Board of Directors and the Board of Trustees. The new Directors and Trustees will be eligible to serve a three year term beginning July 1, 2020.  We invite any Congregant who is interested in joining the leadership of Temple Emanuel as a new Director or Trustee to submit an application for consideration by the Committee.

The Powers and Duties of the Board of Directors and the Board of Trustees are stated in our Bylaws along with the Covenant of Responsibilities (Brit) that each Director and Trustee must agree to and uphold.  Per the Bylaws, all Directors and Trustees shall be members in good standing; and no one may serve as an Elected Director or Elected Trustee who has been a member for less than one year.

The Board of Directors is the Synagogue’s governing body and has the responsibility for overseeing management of the affairs of the Congregation, general oversight of the Congregation’s operations, and setting policies. The Board of Directors is comprised of 36 Congregants and meets approximately once a month. In addition, Directors participate in leadership development and are expected to serve on committees and actively engage in synagogue-wide activities.  Please note, synagogue policy does not allow spouses to simultaneously serve on the Board of Directors.

The Board of Trustees serves as an advisory body to the Board of Directors and is a stepping stone in Temple Emanuel leadership.  Trustees serve a valuable role in offering guidance to the Board of Directors, serving on committees and participating in special projects at the request of the President or Board of Directors. The Board of Trustees is comprised of 50-75 elected Trustees and meets 4 times a year.

If you are interested in being considered for a position on either Board, please complete and submit your form by February 20, 2020.

Online forms are available using these links :

Online Director Application

Online Trustee Application

Alternatively, you can download the appropriate form ( Director Application or Trustee Application ) and submit your completed form to the Committee by February 20, 2020 by emailing it to Committee Co-Chairs Joanne Cudkowicz and Wendy Landon.

If you have any questions, please contact either of us or any member of the Nominating and Governance Committee.

Joanne Cudkowicz (Co-Chair) and Wendy Landon (Co-Chair)

Nominating and Governance Committee Members:

David Bunis
Stuart Cole
Mady Donoff
Jayne Friedberg
Liz Goldstein
Diana Gould
Michele Greene
Larry Heimlich
Joanne Kazarian
Sara Kirsch
Danny Mandeau
Sarah Richmond
Amy Silberstein